The last few days, I have been seeing a new wrinkle in Spam. When you delete a spam message, you see a popup saying that the sender has requested notification when the message is deleted and do you want to notify them? Obviously, you do not want to do this.
I have always thought that asking for notification was a really obnoxious thing to do, but this has more serious repercussions, since it tells the spammer that the address is good. I suspect many people have automated this setting to just do it so that they don’t have to be bothered. But especially now you want to make sure that this notification setting is not automated – or set to never acknowledge receipt requests – so that you don’t give spammers more information about your account.